Dinkar Poetry Award & Mushaira – 2015

Student poets and Parents pack the hall at Dinkar Poetry Awards and Mushaira by Maurya Kala Parisar

IMG_4786.JPGDinkar Poetry Awards 2015, a poetry writing and recitation competition for students was arguably one of the biggest ever student events in Kuwait. It was unique as it was a competition for Hindi / Urdu poetry generally not routine in student competition circuits. Over 81 budding poets from 12 schools competed for the coveted Dinkar Poetry Awards in three categories on Friday, 15 May 2015 at Ras Salmiya. With parents and teachers in attendance, people had to find space in aisle.

Neketra Trivedi of FAIPS won the First prize in Self Written poetry category, while Hardik Pandey of SIMS and Kushagra Agarwal of FAIPS won the First prizes in Poetry Recitation category for Class VI to VIII and IX to XI respectively. Other prize winners were Sadya Afreen, Gulf Indian School (2nd Self written), Razan Mohammed, SIMS (3rd Self written), Megha Johnson ICSK (2nd Recitation Class VI to VIII), Devarshi K. Shirsath, ICSK (3rd Recitation Class VI to VIII), Taniya Sinha, FAIPS (2nd Recitation Class IX to XI) and Miria Johnson, ICSK (3rd Recitation Class IX to XI).IMG_4994.JPG

While recitation category had poems of Mahadevi, Hariaudh, Dinkar, Harivansh Rai Bachhan, Shiv Mangal Singh Suman and many others being recited, the quality of poems written by students were surprising.

Jeete Jee har bat ka khyal rakhate hain Pita,

Baad ka bhi man hin man hisab rakhate hain Pita.


Bhag ke aana tha aapke palkon ki chhaon mein Maa,

Par do akhiri pal bhi jee na saka main Maa.


Mushkilon ka sagar bada hai,

Lehron se darata kyon hai?

Jara Chappu Chala ke to dekh.


While competition part of the event was an effort to instill interest of literature in the budding minds, the second part of the whole day festival was a feast of tasteful poetry from well known poets of Kuwait. 12 Hindi and Urdu poets participated in the Mushiara and Kavi Sammelan. They entertained and stimulated thoughts of the audience.

IMG_5080.JPGMr. U. C. Sharma, President of Kuwait Writers Forum remarked ‘All the credits to Maurya Kala Parisar to organize such an event, with such fairness and on such a large scale. This will go a long way in in building character of children. Mr. A.K.Srivastav from Indian Embassy gave away the prizes.

This was the second year Maurya Kala Parisar organized Dinkar Poetry Awards. The event is named after late Ramdhari Singh Dinkar. Popularly known as ‘Dinkar’ he was an Indian Hindi poet, essayist, patriot and academic, who is considered as one of the most important modern Hindi poets. He remerged as a poet of rebellion as a consequence of his nationalist poetry written in the days before Indian independence. Born in the eastern state of Bihar, Dinkar’s poetry exuded veer rasa, and he has been hailed as a Rashtrakavi (“National poet”) on account of his inspiring patriotic compositions.

FAIPS (DPS), SIMS, ICS Khaitan, Gulf Indian School, Indian Learners Own Academy, Integrated Indian School, ICS Amman, IES(Bhavans) submitted entries coordinated by schools while individual entries were received from students from Indian Central School, ICS Junior, ICS, Spring Meadows School.

Teachers Accamma John, ICSK Amman Branch, Varsha , SIMS, Nivedita Sinha, SIMS, Asrar Makrani, Integrated Indian School, Vani Agarwal, FAIPS, Savitha Khanna, ICS Khaitan, Ambika Sivaprasad, ICS Khaitan, Madhuri Jha, Indian Learners Own Academy, Swarna Saini, Indian Educational School were appreciated for their support.

FAIPS, SIMS, ICS Khaitan, Gulf Indian School, Indian Learners Own Academy, Integrated Indian School, ICS Amman, IES(Bhavans) were also awarded for their school’s participation.

The competition was judged by Mr.Umesh Sharma, Mrs.Tajwar Sultana, Dr.Navneet Ghandhi, Aamir Kidwayee, Dr.Mufazzal Zulfekar, Eng. Qamar Minto, Mr.Saeed Nazar; Mr. Afroz Alam.

Poets and Shayars Mr.Umesh Sharma, Mrs.Tajwar Sultana, Dr.Navneet Ghandhi, Mrs.Aamir Kidwayee, Mr. Kamal Ansari, Dr.Mufazzal Zulfekar, Mr.Asrar Jawasi, Eng. Qamar Minto,; Mr.Nasim Zahid, Mr.Sabir Umar, Mr.Saeed Nazar, Mr.Gurubaksh Singh Dogra and Mr Afroz Alam participated in the Mushaira and Kavi Sammelan.IMG_4883.JPG

Maurya Kala Parisar, registered with Embassy of India in Kuwait, is a cultural and social association of people in Kuwait connected to the Indian states of Bihar and Jharkhand. Active since 1995, it is dedicated to promotion of arts, culture and heritage of the region through events and activities of interest to Indian Community in Kuwait. MKP is one of the most active associations and conducts a wide variety of socially and culturally relevant events round the year. Recently organized Ethnic Food Festival still stimulates the taste buds of food lovers, Rajendra Prasad Debate Competition saw participation of over 100 students from 11 schools, and Maurya Manch offered a rainbow of stage items from the eastern part of India.

Event support was provided by Ms Divya Ritwik, Ms Nivedita Sinha, Mr Sabir Ansari , Mr Zafar Siddiqi, Mr Afroz Alam, Mr. Shahnawaz Mirza, Mr Shabih; Mr. Mohd. Mahtabuzzaman; Mr. Uday Prkash, Mr Ashok Jha, Mr. Ramesh Kumar, Mr Vivek Sinha, Ms Nitu Sinha, Mr Ujjwal Ritwik and Abhay Kashyap.

Dinkari Poetry Award and Mushaira is also in Leading News Portal in Kuwait 

In IIK (Indians in Kuwait )

In Way4indians

In Indian Frontliners


Comments are closed